Skip to content

Reflection Is the Most Important Part of the Learning Process

October 16, 2015

In the article “Reflection Is the Most Important Part of the Learning Process,” Tanner Christensen presents a study that confirms Brookfield’s assertion in chapter one of “The Skilled Teacher,” that reflection is necessary in order for growth to occur.  I believe strongly in the need for reflection and not only make journaling an assignment within my courses, but also keep a journal myself, with entries on the last day of each course I teach.  It provides me with information regarding challenges and successes during each course, and allows me to decide on actions I might take within future classes to suit learners even better.  This review can often help remind me of how situations worked when they were handled one way, and may help me quickly decide in the future if I will handle a similar situation the in the same way, or in a completely differently way.

Brookfield, S., (2006). The Skillful Teacher: On Trust, Technique and Responsiveness in the Classroom. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Christensen, T., (May 9, 2014). Reflection is the most important part of the learning process. 99u.com. Retrieved October 16, 2015 from http://99u.com/workbook/25481/reflection-is-the-most-important-part-of-the-learning-process

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Mark McGregor

PIDP 3250: Instructional Strategies

My Adventures in PIDP

This blog is to highlight my new adventures/challenges as I emabark on this journey of learning!

A Changing Mind

Learning how to teach.

lifeskillsfacilitation

Creative living after ABI / TBI and other disabilities.

