Skip to content

Professional Vision

November 1, 2015

Currently the director of Centre that uses Orton-Gillingham to support individuals with learning disabilities to learn to read, write, and spell, I have currently been certified as a trainer as well. Over the past few years I have been mentored by my director and was encouraged by her to complete the PIDP. Although I have a Bachelor of Education and have past experience lesson planning and developing courses, I have found the focus on pedagogy most beneficial.
I am now completing the last 2 PIDP courses and then look forward to completing the capstone project within the next year. I have already made many modifications to my teaching practice, and plan to work on adding a few more media aspects, perhaps Facebook, podcasts, and a blog, to the courses I teach.
At this time, I also sit on the CATT board, a non-profit certification board for Orton-Gillingham practitioners. I would like to look at also using some of these media aspects to support our members.
As I am on maternity leave at the moment, and completing these last 2 PIDP courses is encompassing most of my ‘free time’, I have not yet looked into future conferences to attend. I know that I will attend the professional development day we offer to our members in the Spring, and would like to attend the annual International Dyslexia Association next Fall, perhaps presenting as I did last Fall in San Diego.
Within the next five years, I would really like to see our courses being offered to more Canadian locations. We currently train mostly within the lower mainland, but in the past few years have also been to Whistler and the Okanagan. I would like to be able to provide training not only to more places within B.C., but also to other provinces. I know that my director is currently working on running a course in Manitoba this summer, so hopefully this starts spreading awareness of the approach and we will be asked back. As this course is being held at a University, if things go well, we might be able to network with Universities in more provinces as well. I hope that some of the social media projects I envision will help as well.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Mark McGregor

PIDP 3250: Instructional Strategies

My Adventures in PIDP

This blog is to highlight my new adventures/challenges as I emabark on this journey of learning!

A Changing Mind

Learning how to teach.

lifeskillsfacilitation

Creative living after ABI / TBI and other disabilities.

