Skip to content

Andragogy

November 30, 2015

Coming into the Provincial Instructor Diploma Program (PIDP) with a Bachelor of Education degree, I had some experience with lesson planning and need for self-reflection in your practice; however, my focus through my degree had been pedagogy.  As I am now also working with adult students, teaching them how to support students with language based learning disabilities, I found the information on andragogy very beneficial.  Adults learn differently and have different expectations than children, and their instructor should be well versed in how to best support them.  One of the aspects I have found most useful when teaching adults is the importance of student feedback, formative and summative.  As many of our students have some prior knowledge when entering the classroom, the teacher must take this into account and draw on their expertise.  Throughout the course, it is imperative that the teacher continue to inquire how the students are doing, what they are understanding and what they need more support with.  Throughout the PIDP I have really appreciated being able to develop some resources that will enable me to query my students and continue to provide the best learning environment for my adult students.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Mark McGregor

PIDP 3250: Instructional Strategies

My Adventures in PIDP

This blog is to highlight my new adventures/challenges as I emabark on this journey of learning!

A Changing Mind

Learning how to teach.

lifeskillsfacilitation

Creative living after ABI / TBI and other disabilities.

